Plantations et Huileries du Congo (PHC) announces the launch of PHC Ventures: An ambitious initiative to support youth entrepreneurship in the DRC

PHC Company, the largest palm oil producer in the Democratic Republic of Congo, is pleased to announce the launch of PHC Ventures, an ambitious, innovative and groundbreaking initiative aimed at supporting entrepreneurship and creating jobs for young people in the DRC.

PHC Ventures, as an independent entity of PHC, positions itself as an incubator and investor, and will finance projects in several key areas such as agriculture, livestock, beekeeping, fish farming, health, projects related to renewable energies and many more. In addition to financing, PHC Ventures will offer young entrepreneurs support in the form of mentoring to help them realize their business ideas and thus contribute to their economic prosperity.

“With PHC Ventures, a new era of opportunities is opening for young entrepreneurs in the Democratic Republic of Congo, helping to foster innovation, job creation and sustainable economic development. » declared Mr. Kamal Pallan, Director of Operations of the investment company Kuramo Capital Management, majority shareholder of PHC.

“I am proud of this initiative and of our company’s commitment to the development of youth entrepreneurship in the DRC. With this initiative, we will continue our commitment to improving the lives of the communities surrounding our sites of operations. We look forward to working with young entrepreneurs and supporting them on their journey to success,” declared Ms. Monique Gieskes, Managing Director of PHC.

Indeed, the launch of PHC Ventures is a continuation of PHC's commitment to improving the living conditions of the communities surrounding its operating sites located in the provinces of Tshopo, Mongala and 'Ecuador.

About PHC

Established in 1911, PHC is a key player in the DRC's palm oil industry, playing a vital role in the national economy. Since 2021, thanks to the support of its majority shareholder, Kuramo Capital Management, and under the leadership of Madam Monique Gieskes, Managing Director, PHC has experienced remarkable growth, increasing its production by 20% per year over the last three years. As an economic pillar in the provinces of Tshopo, Mongala and Equateur, where the company operates, PHC has increased its workforce from 6 500 to almost 10 000 employees between 2021 and 2024, all under direct contract. With its vision of creating prosperity through agribusiness, PHC has built and equipped 24 primary schools serving over 7 000 children. The company also has 4 hospitals, 4 health centers and 17 dispensaries, providing medical care to its employees, their families and the surrounding communities. PHC also ensures access to drinking water through the installation and maintenance of 71 boreholes. The company also supports 91 Agricultural Producer Organizations (OPAs) by providing quality seeds and agricultural tools.

Leave a Comment

Your email address Will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top

La société Plantations et Huileries du Congo (PHC) annonce le lancement de PHC Ventures : Une initiative ambitieuse pour soutenir l’entrepreneuriat des jeunes en RDC

La société PHC, le plus grand producteur d’huile de palme en République démocratique du Congo, est heureuse d’annoncer le lancement de PHC Ventures, une initiative ambitieuse, innovante et révolutionnaire visant à soutenir l’entrepreneuriat et à créer des emplois pour les jeunes en RDC.

PHC Ventures, en tant qu’entité indépendante de PHC, se positionne comme un incubateur et un investisseur, et financera des projets dans plusieurs domaines clés tels que l’agriculture, l’élevage, l’apiculture, la pisciculture, la santé, les projets liés aux énergies renouvelables et bien d’autres encore. En plus du financement, PHC Ventures offrira aux jeunes entrepreneurs un accompagnement sous forme de mentorat afin de les aider à concrétiser leurs idées d’entreprises et ainsi contribuer à leur prospérité économique.

« Avec PHC Ventures, une nouvelle ère d’opportunités s’ouvre pour les jeunes entrepreneurs en République démocratique du Congo, contribuant ainsi à favoriser l’innovation, la création d’emplois et le développement économique durable. » a déclaré Monsieur Kamal Pallan, Directeur des Opérations de la société d’investissement Kuramo Capital Management, actionnaire majoritaire de PHC.

« Je suis fière de cette initiative et de l’engagement de notre entreprise envers le développement de l’entrepreneuriat des jeunes en RDC. Avec cette initiative, nous allons poursuivre notre engagement pour l’amélioration de la vie des communautés environnantes de nos sites d’opérations. Nous sommes impatients de travailler avec les jeunes entrepreneurs et de les accompagner dans leur parcours vers le succès » a déclaré Madame Monique Gieskes, Directeur Général de PHC.

En effet, le lancement de PHC Ventures s’inscrit dans la continuité de l’engagement de PHC visant à améliorer les conditions de vie des communautés environnantes de ses sites d’opérations situés dans les provinces de la Tshopo, de la Mongala et de l’Equateur.

À propos de PHC

Créée en 1911, PHC est un acteur clé de l’industrie de l’huile de palme en RDC, jouant un rôle essentiel dans l’économie nationale. Depuis 2021, grâce au soutien de son actionnaire majoritaire, Kuramo Capital Management, et sous la direction de Madame Monique Gieskes, Directeur Général, PHC a connu une croissance remarquable, augmentant sa production de 20 % par an au cours des trois dernières années. En tant que pilier économique dans les provinces de la Tshopo, de la Mongala et de l’Équateur, où la société opère, PHC a augmenté son effectif de 6 500 à près de 10 000 employés entre 2021 et 2024, tous sous contrat direct. Avec sa vision de créer une prospérité grâce à l’agribusiness, PHC a construit et équipé 24 écoles primaires accueillant plus de 7 000 enfants. La société dispose également de 4 hôpitaux, 4 centres de santé et 17 dispensaires, offrant des soins médicaux à ses employés, leurs familles et les communautés environnantes. PHC assure par ailleurs l’accès à l’eau potable à travers la mise en place et l’entretien de 71 forages. La société soutient aussi 91 Organisations de Producteurs Agricoles (OPA) en fournissant des semences de qualité et des outils aratoires.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top