Mediation between PHC and Communities: Preparations Advance

A delegation from the Independent Complaints Mechanism (ICM), a joint initiative of the European Development Banks DEG, FMO et PROPARCO, stayed in Lokutu from August 15 to 22, 2022, to advance the mediation process between PHC and local communities to address a complaint placed by the communities in 2018. The delegation consisted of a Head of Delegation, the Chief Mediator, an assistant and an interpreter.

During their previous visit to the DRCfrom May 23rd to June 3rd, 2022, the ICM experts met with complainants and group leaders to gain a more in-depth understanding of the grievances they had filed with ICM that will be discussed during the mediation.

The recent visit by the ICM team to Lokutu has again moved the mediation forward. During this visit, the ICM delegation selected the individuals who will take part in the mediation; seven members of the Lokutu communities, one civil society representative, and four PHC representatives will be part of the mediation discussions.

The ICM delegation during a meeting with all mediation stakeholders.

After selecting the mediation participants, the main mediator offered a training session on conflict resolution and the principles of negotiation on August 21. The purpose of this training was to prepare participants and help them understand the process and the rules of mediation.

The ICM delegation visit to Lokutu ended on a positive note. John Esonga, president of a civil society organization in Basoko/Lokutu, noted that:

“The mediation process initiated by the ICM experts is a good thing, because it makes it possible to address complaints within the framework of mediation instead of bringing them before the legal authorities. During the exchanges with the ICM delegation, I noted the willingness of all stakeholders to bring the mediation process to a successful conclusion.”

Leave a Comment

Your email address Will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top

Médiation entre PHC et les communautés : les préparatifs avancent

Une délégation du Mécanisme indépendant d’examen des plaintes (ICM), une initiative conjointe des banques européennes de développement DEG, FMO et PROPARCO, a séjourné à Lokutu du 15 au 22 août 2022, pour faire avancer le processus de médiation entre PHC et les communautés locales pour une plainte déposée par les communautés en 2018. La délégation était composée d’un chef de délégation, du médiateur principal, de son assistant ainsi que d’un interprète.

Lors de leur précédent séjour en RDC, du 23 mai au 3 juin 2022, les experts de l’ICM avaient rencontré les plaignants et les chefs de groupement pour acquérir une compréhension plus approfondie des griefs qu’ils avaient déposés à l’ICM et qui seront examinés durant la médiation.

La visite de l’équipe de l’ICM effectuée récemment à Lokutu a permis une fois de plus de faire avancer la médiation. Au cours de cette mission, la délégation de l’ICM a procédé à la sélection des personnes qui devront participer à la médiation. Ainsi, 7 personnes membres des communautés de Lokutu, une personne de la société civile ainsi que 4 représentants de PHC feront partie des discussions de la médiation.

La délégation de l’ICM au cours d’une réunion avec toutes les parties prenantes de la médiation.

Après l’étape de sélection des participants à la médiation, une formation sur la résolution des conflits et les principes de négociation a été animée le 21 août par le médiateur principal. Le but de cette formation est de préparer les participants et leur faire comprendre le processus et les règles de la médiation.

La mission de la délégation de l’ICM à Lokutu s’est clôturée sur une note positive. En témoigne un représentant de la société civile qui a pris part à cette activité :

« Le processus de médiation initié par les experts de l’ICM est une bonne chose, car elle permet de traiter les plaintes dans le cadre d’une médiation au lieu de les porter devant les instances juridiques. Au cours des échanges avec la délégation de l’ICM, j’ai noté la volonté de toutes les parties prenantes de faire aboutir le processus de médiation », a déclaré John Esonga, président d’une organisation de la société civile à Basoko/Lokutu.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top